Interference from one foreign language in learning another

Natural languages and linguistics
StrangerCoug

Interference from one foreign language in learning another

Post by StrangerCoug »

So, besides my native English, the two foreign languages I would say I know best are Spanish and French in that order. In Spanish, to say "your book", it's tu libro, and to say "his book", you can say su libro. The equivalent pronouns in French start with the same letter: ton livre, son livre.

This trips me the hell up when I'm studying Greek on Duolingo. I have to remember that το βιβλίο του means "his book" and that το βιβλίο σου means "your book", not the other way around, and I find I don't always.

Has anyone else who has learned more than one language experienced similar problems? What solutions have you tried to prevent mistakes of this sort?
Ketsuban

Re: Interference from one foreign language in learning another

Post by Ketsuban »

The classic example for English speakers learning modern Greek is that "no" is όχι which sounds like "okay", and "yes" is ναι which sounds like "nay".
Ares Land

Post by Ares Land »

I think it's worse with related languages. When I was in high school, it was common to mix up English and German, or Latin and Spanish.
I don't think there's really any solution besides practice.
WeepingElf

Post by WeepingElf »

I once took Spanish lessons, and another student in these lessons slipped into pronouncing the Spanish words as if they were French, e.g. [ty ɛ're:] for tu eres.
... brought to you by the Weeping Elf
My conlang pages
Creyeditor

Post by Creyeditor »

I frequently confuse Indonesian and Spanish words. I guess it's because from a French/German/English perspective the two languages are phonologically similar.
Darren

Post by Darren »