"To have" in Wena/Hibuese/Ngehu

Conworlds and conlangs
Imralu

"To have" in Wena/Hibuese/Ngehu

Post by Imralu »

Languages employ a lot of different strategies to express "having" something and I just wanted to talk about how it's expressed in my conlang that I've variously called Wena, Hibuese, Ngehu etc. etc. (I also keep moving the setting. Terrible!)

Wena essentially doesn't have a lexical category of verbs other than, arguably, the non-inflecting copular / predicate marking particle i (e after another i, which is used to link noun phrases. You can think of a sentence such as "I write books" as essentially being structured like "I am a writer of books": Na i ngegyo ya ndyolya (1S COP writer GEN book). Obviously you can syntactically find a predicate and you could argue that i ngegyo "is a writer" is simply a verb meaning "writes", but there is no distinction in lexical categories and could then end up saying i mba is a verb meaning "is a house". There is also no grammatical distinction between a possessor and an object, as the equivalent of objects are essentially present as genitive modifiers. The genitive marking can even be dropped when context allows, forming a loose compound such as ngegyo ndyolya ("book writer") (as opposed to a "tight" compound which is written as one word and distinguished by stress) and with certain words, the genitive marking is more often dropped than not (that generally depends more on the head than the modifier).

There are three words that basically express different shades of "having".
  • nyu - owner (expresses legal ownership)
  • za - holder, wearer, carrier, one who has ... on/with oneself (expresses physical location or at least temporary control over the object)
  • ne - one who has ... without volition; one who is endowed with ...; undergoer, victim (expresses non-volitional possession, ornative case, passive voice)