So, Afroasiatic... is it really legit?

Natural languages and linguistics
dɮ the phoneme
Location: On either side of the tongue, below the alveolar ridge

So, Afroasiatic... is it really legit?

Post by dɮ the phoneme »

Afroasiatic is obviously widely accepted as a family, and I want to be clear that I'm not trying to peddle any crackpottery here. I'm a completely novice when it comes to the AA family, so I have no desire to butt against established scholarship. However, as a novice, there are a lot of things about the AA family that would be major red flags for me if they were claimed of any other, less established group of languages. The first is the time depth. I know that claims vary wildly, but the ones I've heard most dates it to before 10,000 BC, which is beyond the rule-of-thumb 10,000 limit on the efficacy of the comparative method. I understand that the earliest attestations of the family are uniquely ancient, but that still seems like a rather extraordinary claim. Beyond that (and maybe expectedly, if that kind of time depth is accurate), the reconstruction for PAA seems to be... seriously in need of work, at least if Wikipedia is to be believed.
Wikipedia wrote: There are two etymological dictionaries of Afroasiatic, one by Christopher Ehret, and one by Vladimir Orel and Olga Stolbova. The two dictionaries disagree on almost everything.[56] The following table contains the thirty roots or so (out of thousands) that represent a fragile consensus of present research:

[...]
The table contains only thirty vocabulary items, none of them attested in every brach of the family and most attested in less than half, and all with reconstructed proto-forms that look like this: *(ʔa-)bVr - "bull". Honestly, maybe I'm being too harsh, but that seems like something you'd see from an Altaicist.